Responsible Bartending
Get a responsible serving® of alcohol permit from Rserving

California On-Premises Responsible Serving® of Alcohol

California On-Premises Responsible Serving® of Alcohol Information

Compliance Training

California On-Premises Responsible Serving® of Alcohol Course
$8.99


How to register for the course
  • Click "add to cart" to signup
  • Checkout
  • Password info is emailed to you
  • Log in to take the course
    • Log in immediately
    • Or wait / log in later

Train your team - click for team discounts
Click for Team Discounts
Click to get information about discounts if you need to train multiple team members. You will be redirected to Rserving.com


California On-Premises Responsible Serving® of Alcohol Course Approval

Rserving is approved by the California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control to provide RBS training. This online training meets the requirements of the Responsible Beverage Server Training Act to ensure servers and their managers of alcoholic beverages are educated on the dangers of serving alcohol to minors and over-serving alcohol to patrons with the intention of reducing alcohol-related harm to local communities.

Beginning July 1, 2022, any alcohol server and their manager must have a valid RBS certification from an ABC accredited RBS training provider and pass an online ABC administered RBS exam within 60 calendar days from the first date of employment.

Upon completing our course and passing the RBS exam through the California RBS portal, your alcohol server certification will be valid for three years.
California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control APPROVED!

The California Responsible Serving Course for bartenders, sellers, and servers will go over all the required information for learning to sell and serve alcohol in California and provide state-specific certification. The California course will cover topics such as how to spot someone who has been drinking too much, How to properly check IDs, and the responsibilities/liabilities of the server. The California Responsible Serving course features interactive learning through audio, videos, and text. Each lesson of the course deals with different areas that a bartender, seller, or server in California needs to be familiar with. At the end of each lesson interactive flashcards help with retention of the important details, and the lesson quizzes test for knowledge of the area.

California regulations are governed by the California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control.

Contact Information: California Approved Logo
California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Telephone: (916) 419-2500
Website: http://www.abc.ca.gov



Click the add to cart button below and proceed to the checkout to get signed up. You will be emailed a username/password to login and begin.

California On-Premises Responsible Serving® of Alcohol $8.99






California On-Premises Responsible Serving® of Alcohol is also available through the following offer:

Employer Discounts Available
Learn More
Employer Discounts
Discounts for bulk purchases
Details
 

Is the RBS (bartender license) required in California?

Yes, the Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) training is mandatory for any alcohol server and their manager in any premises licensed for on-premises consumption of alcohol, effective July 1, 2022. This includes any person who checks ID, takes drink orders for alcoholic beverages, or delivers drinks to patrons (or a person who manages or supervises that person).


Related Courses for California:


What is the minimum age to sell/serve alcohol in California?

  • The minimum age to sell alcohol in California is 18 or supervised by a person at least 21
  • The minimum age to serve alcohol in California is 21 or 18  (bona fide public eating place)
California Bartending License, RBS Permit, Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) Training Certificate, RBS certification, ABC accredited RBS training regulationsBartending License, RBS Permit, Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) Training Certificate, RBS certification, ABC accredited RBS training regulations for sellers and servers in California
  • CA Dram Shop Laws: Yes
  • CA Happy Hour Laws: The State of California does not have state-wide Happy Hour Prohibitions. Such laws may exist in your city or county. Check with your local jurisdiction for any restrictions.

Can bartenders in CA work as a bartender with a felony conviction? yes
Yes. The state only regulates businesses as a whole and not bartenders or employees of businesses.